June 21, 2024

A Tribe Called Quest & Mary J Blige Will Be Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame


It’s about time.

On their third try, A Tribe Called Quest will finally be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame. The quartet of Q-Tip, Phife Dawg, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, and Jarobi White, ATCQ is widely considered as one of the best hip hop groups of all time. The group released six albums throughout their duration — People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm in 1990, The Low End Theory in 1991, Midnight Marauders in 1993, Beats, Rhymes and Life in 1996, The Love Movement in 1998, and We Got It from Here… Thank You 4 Your Service in 2016 — with each one going Gold or Platinum. Tragically, Phife — née Malik Izaak Taylor — would pass away on March 22, 2016, due to complications relating to diabetes.

Tribe becomes the eleventh hip hop artist to be inducted, following Missy Elliott (in 2023), Eminem (in 2022) Jay-Z and LL Cool J (2021), The Notorious B.I.G. (2020), 2Pac (2017), N.W.A. (2016), Public Enemy (2012), The Beastie Boys (2012), Run DMC (2009) and Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five (2007).

ATCQ isn’t the only legendary New Yorker getting inducted in 2024, as Mary J Blige will also be inducted. Often dubbed as the “Queen of Hip Hop Soul,” Blige has won multiple Grammy, a Emmy, American Music, NAACP Image, and Billboard Music awards, and is also the first and thus far only person to be nominated for an acting and songwriting Academy Award in the same year (2017). Blige has released 14 studio albums, beginning with 1992’s What’s The 411?, and has sold an estimate of over 100 million records worldwide.

They will also be joined by fellow inductees Kool and The Gang, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Ozzy Osbourne, Peter Frampton, and Foreigner. The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony will happen on October 19 at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, OH.

A Tribe Called Quest & Mary J Blige Will Be Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame was last modified: April 22nd, 2024 by Meka

Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *